Tinkering with a cheap RC car

Robot thingy, tricopter, and wing 004

A long time ago I bought a cheap RC car to experiment with. I figured I could use its two-motor tank-drive in another application- I wanted to see if i could re-purpose the circuit for something completely different (I considered an RC door lock for a while, but never got around to it). I also wanted to mess around with the Infrared “transmitter” and find some application for that too- I didn’t find one, but I did learn a lot. Here’s what I discovered.

The circuit board was relatively simple- the motor inputs were on the left and right sides, and the infrared sensor is by the charging port. The battery is a 100mah LiFe that charges directly through the board from the transmitter. I was planning on using a phone charger wall-wart to charge the battery by swapping connectors, but I took it apart and salvaged the motors instead; I didn’t think the car was going to last very long anyway.

Circuit board with motors and battery still attached. I might have used the IR sensor for something, but at the time I didn't know if that was possible,nor did I know how to use it for anything

Circuit board with motors and battery still attached. I might have used the IR sensor for something, but at the time I didn’t know if that was possible or not, nor did I know how to use it for anything.

The motors are similar to the kind you might find in a cell phone for vibration. I had some gears from a wristwatch that press-fit snugly onto the shaft, so I played around with making a set of gearbox plates, but I got bored of that pretty quickly. You can check out my post on that, too.

Robot thingy, tricopter, and wing 004

I’m always amused by the batteries that manufacturers throw into these toys. Before I came across this RC car, I’d never seen a LiFe battery before, so they were new to me. A quick search online told me that they were basically bad LiPOs- they don’t hold their charge as long, can’t deliver current as efficiently, and don’t last very long. They are cheap in comparison to LiPos, however, which is a plus.

Robot thingy, tricopter, and wing 003

I have since thrown the board away, but I still have the motors- I’m considering building a gearbox driven by one of them to turn a 5” propeller that’s collecting dust.

Leave a comment