Vex Robot

vex robot 018

This project is a simple drive base for 5.8 GHz FPV around my yard. One goal was to spend as little money as I could for components- in the spirit of frugality, I substituted preferred materials or components for those that I could make work. The chassis, for example, is 1/2” square walnut stock that I found in my garage. It was a little warped, but it worked fine. I figured I could tweak the axle blocks to align the wheels rather than depend on the accuracy of the chassis. A delta mix in my 2.4 GHz transmitter allows me  to control the tank-drive steering. I currently have no further plans for the robot, but it might serve some purpose other than exploring with FPV in the future.

As usual, the chassis began with CAD. I knew the vex geared motors that I used didn’t have the torque to move a robot over 3-4 lbs with any reasonable speed, so I made sure I kept everything as light and compact as possible.

I thought that anything thicker than 1/2” square stock would be unreasonably bulky for the frame, so that’s what I used. To put the frame together, I simply drilled holes and screwed in wood screws at the corners. I knew it wouldn’t be very strong at corners for impacts, but I wasn’t building this robot to be smacked around very much.

vex robot 002

vex robot 003

When the frame was together, I super-glued the motors to the frame, 6” from the end of the frame to the front of the motor casing. They were later braced on both side with more wood, also super-glued to the frame. I planned to brace the shafts on the other sides of the frame members with Vex bearing blocks, but the geometry was off just enough to cause additional friction on the shaft. The motors were secured to the frame well enough that I decided not bracing them from the other side of the frame would work- on a larger scale, the forces on the shaft would likely be high enough for that to be a problem, so I noted it for future robots.

vex robot 006

vex robot 005

I then bolted the bearing blocks to the frame with the 3rd holes in the lowest position for the greatest possible ground clearance. The wheels are from an ancient Lego Mindstorms kit. They are 4” in diameter and roughly 3/8” wide. They are meant to be mounted on Lego shafts, which have a + cross-section, but Vex shafts are the same dimensions along the side, so I could still attach the wheels to the shafts without any modifications.

vex robot 009

To keep the shafts in place, I used 1/8” grub-screw shaft collars that came from an old erector set I had laying around. I only had enough collars to keep the shafts in place (not for the wheels as well) so I used small zip ties instead.

vex robot 014

vex robot 011

The Vex sprockets had such high friction with the axles that I didn’t need to keep them in place with shaft collars (or zip ties, for that matter). The sprockets on the motors have 24 teeth and the sprockets on each axle have 8 teeth. The free speed of the vex motors is 160 rpm, which when  geared 3:1 translates to roughly 12 feet/sec at the wheel. This is quite fast for such a small robot- for different terrains/applications I can simply replace the sprockets with others that came with the kit for more torque.

vex robot 013vex robot 012

The receiver is hot-glued to a masonite sheet (also found in my garage) which is screwed into the underside of the frame. The plate also serves as a battery tray.

vex robot 007vex robot 015

The battery is a modified NiMH pack from a cordless drill that broke years ago- I simply removed 6 of the 1.2v cells and soldered back the last two for a 7.2v output. The RC receiver can only handle 9v, which is why I didn’t want to go over 6 cells. The motor controllers are powered directly from the receiver- the motors don’t ever draw more than 3 amps.

vex robot 017

To plug in the battery to the receiver, I soldered a pwm connector to the output + and – wires. I love pwm connectors for one reason- power is in the middle, which means I can never short out my receiver, regardless of the positions of the ground or signal pins.

The two vex speed controllers connect to the receiver’s aileron and elevator channels. The left goes to the aileron channel, and the right goes to the elevator. To secure the controllers down I simply bunched together the wire until it had roughly 1/2” of slack and zip tied the controllers and wire to the frame.

Everything I need for FPV is simply zip tied to the frame. I currently have all my FPV gear hooked up to the tricopter, which is why the picture just shows the completed drive base.

vex robot 001

 

The project was an experiment in 4WD tank steering, which is likely what I will use to control YardBot, a large all-terrain robot that I am designing for general outdoor use. That project will have an article as soon as I finish the design/build process and document it.

 

Leave a comment